Department Organization

The Department Council is the organ that directs, plans, coordinates and verifies the Department's activity. It exercises all the powers that are conferred on it by the current legislation, the Statute and Regulations and is composed by all the professors and full-time researchers of the Department. 

Along with the Steering Committee, it plans, each year, the recruitment needs (structured in discipline sectors) for new professors and reasearchers.

The Department's didactic business, activating and de-activating courses, and running general services are carried out by the School of Medicine , which operates as a liaison structure for the medical area departments. It also links up with the National Health Service.

The monitoring of the educational offer and the quality of teaching, as well as the service offered to students, are carried out by the Department Board, composed by twelve professors elected amongst the members of the Departments Councils, ten student representatives elected amongst the students' representatives and two representatives elected amongst the doctoral students enrolled in the courses belonging to the medical area departments.

The Board assists the Director and exercises the tasks required by the Department Regulations.

For the years 2018/2022, the elected members are:

  • Prof. Renata Rizzo (International Relations and Erasmus+ programme)
  • Prof. Lorenzo Malatino (Scuola Superiore di Catania/School of Excellence)
  • Prof. Lucia Frittitta (Teaching activities)